Wisconsin ended the last fiscal year with a surplus. Governor Walker and the State Legislature are returning the surplus to certain taxpayers in the form of a Child Sales Tax Rebate. The $100 rebate is available for sales and use tax paid on purchases made for raising a dependent child in 2017.
Individuals with a qualifying dependent on their 2017 Wisconsin individual income tax return may apply for a $100 rebate for each qualified child. A child may only be claimed by one individual. A dependent is considered a qualified child if they:
- Are under age 18 as of December 31, 2017
- Were a dependent of the individual for the 2017 tax year (or were eligible to be claimed as a dependent regardless of whether the claimant filed a 2017 tax return.)
- Were a Wisconsin resident as of December 31, 2017, and
- Are a United States citizen
Eligible taxpayers will have the opportunity to claim the rebate through an online form at the Wisconsin Department of Revenue’s website (childtaxrebate.wi.gov) between May 15, 2018, and July 2, 2018. Late claims will not be accepted. Eligible taxpayers may also call 608-266-KIDS, Monday through Friday 7:45am – 4:30pm to make a claim.
The following information is required to apply:
- Your social security number and Wisconsin residency for 2017 (special rules may apply if the claimant was a part-year resident or nonresident of Wisconsin during 2017, if the child was a resident on December 31, 2017)
- The child’s legal name, social security number, and date of birth
- A bank routing number and account number for direct deposit
Upon filing, the claimant will receive a confirmation number that can be used to check on the status of their rebate by using the “Where’s My Rebate” online service on the www.revenue.wi.gov website. The majority of the claims are expected to be processed in about three weeks from the date of application with all direct deposits or mailed checks expected to be delivered by September 1, 2018.